Victoria Beckham slammed for models being ‘dangerously thin’

In an interview with The Telegraph, Victoria Beckham promoted her VVB line, which is supposed to be the more accessible aspect of her fashion brand. Though the term ‘accessible’ is used loosely here, some clothes costing outrageous prices, dresses around $1000, while others are not so wildly priced. Hoping to branch out for her fans that maybe can’t afford a high-end designer dress, Beckham discusses rumors and criticisms of her line. As one can tell reading this interview, Beckham was serious in her tone and wanted her words to come across properly.

On rumors that Roland Mouret ghost designed her line
I’m very thankful to Roland, if it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t have met Mel or Tracy [her heads of collections and sourcing], but he’s never had anything to do with the collections. I knew what everyone was thinking and what the whispers were, of course I knew.

On if she reads reviews of her line
I [read them] as soon as they come in, so I am very aware. I think people who say they don’t read everything are probably lying, people who say they don’t care are probably lying. There’s nothing wrong with constructive criticism, and I learn from that and better myself. I’m not expecting anyone to be sycophantic in any way, I never expected that.

On Internet comments about 17 year-old model, Peyton Knight, being too thin
I wasn’t the only show she did, I wasn’t the only designer to use her. Our casting directorspoke to the [model] agencies, and we know that all our girls are healthy. They’re young, they’re thin, but that doesn’t mean they’re ill. People are mean on social media, whoever you are. It’s a shame people have to be that way.

On her work with the UN
For whatever reason, people will listen to what I have to say, and so I can speak on behalf of these incredibly brave, strong women. I can tell people not just how terrible the situation is, but that we’re really making a difference.

source: The Telegraph

I like that Victoria Beckham admits in this interview that she does read the reviews of her fashion shows. And, I also liked the fact that she called people out on the fact that they say they don’t read their own reviews. Most people in Hollywood do not do this, due to the awkwardness of critiquing yourself. But, I loved how Beckham pointed out that constructive criticism is a way to better oneself, not to tear them down.

On the thin model scandal, Beckham defended herself quite well. Though she begins with the whole “I didn’t do it first” spiel, she does go into detail about how she feels about critics constantly discussing thin models’ health status just because they are thin. She points out though this may be a problem in society, not all models are sick with eating disorders, some are just naturally thin.

In regards to her charity work, Beckham is always a great spokeswoman.

What Beckham lacks is the awareness of eating disorders in the fashion community. Many models due suffer from these disorders due to the pressure in the fashion world. This issue is never really addressed in the model world, and it needs strong models like Beckham to come out and make audiences aware.

Nicole, theEntertainmentgirl

Leave a Reply

