Oscars Recap

The 88th annual Academy Awards were last night, hosted by comedian and actor Chris Rock, and drew in a considerably low audience this year with about 34 million viewers according to Deadline.

This viewership was the lowest in 8 years, and third lowest in Oscar history.

Though many critics are saying it could be due to the #OscarsSoWhite hashtag arising earlier this month, exposing how none of the nominees were of colour, and most of the Academy themselves represented the white upper classmen of the American society, the show still went on as it would.

Here are some of the main winners of the night;

Leonardo Di Caprio in The Revenant, Best Actor: Leo finally winning his Oscar gold is pretty spectacular, but not exactly newsworthy in my opinion. I think it’s great he is finally being recognized for his great acting work, but why is he so special? There are so many actors AND actresses who have never even been nominated (when they outrightly should have been) let alone came close to winning. But, I guess it’s because everyone on the planet LOVES Leo (or extremely dispises him, it is either or no in between). I can’t help but think that Leo’s campaign for Oscar gold out shined the real issue of the awards, which we know to be the race issue, but I digress..

Brie Larson in Room, Best Actress: Brie Larson is one of those actresses that has slyly come up on the acting scene, even though she has been in the industry since the age of 10. Think Jennifer Lawerence, likeable, goofy and an amazing actress. While many critics are calling her the next Lawerence (since J-Law seems to be falling off her recent stardom), Larson seems to be making her own acting statement with the amazing performance in Room. The fact that Brie Larson won Best Actress for 2016 AND starred alongside Amy Shumer in Trainwreck as her hilarious sister makes me LOVE her more. It proves to be she can have variety, comedy, drama, etc. I love this variety, and hope I get to see her in so many more amazing movies. I watched the Oscar After Interview with her on Live! With Kelly Ripa and Michael Strahan, and she said she was currently filming in Taiwan, so I hope that comes out ASAP!

Spotlight, Best Picture and Best Screenplay: Though I have not seen this film, I REALLY want too. I am a journalist, so this movie just screams ‘WATCH ME,’ but I just have been so busy with life that for awhile I completely forgot about it until yesterday’s Oscars. I will watch it soon, since I have heard such amazing things about it. I am so happy it won these two awards, because to me these two categories really show what movie was the most capturing overall to audiences (in my opinion). These categories always define who the real winners of the night are, and I love that it was Spotlight. I love Mark Ruffalo and love Rachael McAddams and I bet they are absolutely amazing in this seemingly well written film.

How did you find Chris Rock’s hosting?

Who was the big winner of the night for you?

Did you guess the right winners, or were you completely off?

Tell me what you thought in the comments below!

For the complete list of Oscar winners check out their website
http://oscar.go.com/winners

  • theEntertainmentGirl

 

Leave a Reply

