What’s Making Headlines Today!

Hello friends,

On this extremely hot day in Toronto, I am here to dive into all the latest entertainment news headlines for you. So stay cool and keep on reading!

  1. Maria Sharapova is going to Harvard, I mean it looks like she is anyways.

    From the looks of her social media , the tennis star announced her intentions to attend Harvard Business School.

    Cl0CEVHVYAAmNyF
    Maria Sharapova posted this photo on both her Facebook page and Twitter over the weekend. Photo Source: Twitter.

    The caption reads, “Not sure how this happened but hey Harvard! Can’t wait to start the program!”

    The announcement comes a few weeks after Sharapova received a two year suspension from the International Tennis Federation after failing a drug test at the 2016 Australian Open.

    Neither Sharapova’s reps nor Harvard’s rep have responded to the announcement from the former No.1 player in the world.

    But the Associated Press reported she would take two classes on campus.

    Clearly nothing is going to stop Sharapova in achieving what she wants.

  2. Sorry One Direction fans, Harry Styles is officially going in a solo direction.
    harry-styles-performance-solo-2015-billboard-1548
    Harry Styles performs onstage during 106.1 KISS FM’s Jingle Ball 2015 presented by Capital One at American Airlines Center on Dec. 1, 2015 in Dallas. Photo Source: KEVIN MAZUR/GETTY IMAGES FOR IHEARTMEDIA

    The former One Directioner has signed a contract with Columbia Records, ironically the same one the band was signed onto.

    Billboard first reported it on Thursday.

    Terms of the deal are unknown at this point.

    Styles will follow his ex-bandmate, Zayn Malik when he left the band in 2015 and is now a solo act (and more amazing then ever.. I mean have you heard his album!)

    Fans should not be surprised, the 22-year-old has been headed into this direction for awhile now.

    Last year, four of his solo songs were registered with the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, which is when the breakup rumours started.

    In March, he  joined Full Stop Management, run by Jeffrey Azoff, practically confirming the band split.

    Also in March, 1D’s mentor and who brought them together as a band on “X Factor” in 2010, Simon Cowell told Billboard he was unsure of the One Direction’s status at the time.

    “I don’t know if it’s a hiatus or a breakup, to be honest. In a weird way, I don’t want to know,” said the long-time music producer. “I don’t think they’ve had enough time to experience what it’s like not being in the group to really answer that.”

    Styles is currently filming the new Christopher Nolan drama, “Dunkirk,” which focuses around World War II.

    What I Think

    This long awaited deal is well deserved for Styles.

    He and Zayn had the strongest voices, plus their popularity was on a higher level than the other three.

    So the solo careers make complete sense to me.

    One Direction caused a enormous comeback for boy bands, who haven’t been popular since the 90s, when bands like the Backstreet Boys were at their prime.

    But the fans have evolved like they always do, and 1D just couldn’t seem to keep up with audiences anymore.

    They no longer want pop, mainstream, “boy meets girl, falls in love” music.

    Audiences love Zayn’s solo music because it is so different from 1D, its edgy and sexy.

    He will probably do really well solo just like Zayn has.

  3. Winona Ryder defends Johnny Depp in recent interview with Time.
    winona-ryder
    Actress Winona Ryder arrives at the gala presentation for the film “Black Swan” at the 35th Toronto International Film Festival in 2010. Photo Source: REUTERS/FILE.

    Ryder was at the height of her career in the 90s just as Depp was, with hit films such as Beetlejuice, Celebrity,Girl, Interrupted, and The Age of Innocence, which earned her a Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actress.

    Ryder starred in Edward Scissorhands with Depp in 1990, and dated the Oscar nominated actor for four years in the late 90s.

    Ryder is making her comeback in the acting world, trying out a series this time. The thriller Stranger Things will star Ryder and comes out on Netflix on July 15.

    Time sat down with Ryder to discuss the series, but of course had to ask about Depp and the recent abuse allegations from his soon-to-be ex-wife, Amber Heard.

    This is what she said…

    “Look, I mean, obviously I can only speak from my own experience. It’s very tricky because if it were any other type of scandal, like cheating, you could be like, ‘None of my business. No comment. Not appropriate for me.’ But I think because what is being said is so horrific and such a global issue for millions of women, obviously, that I understand why people feel it is their business. I get it. And I get why you would ask.

    I can only speak from my own experience, which was wildly different than what is being said. I mean, he was never, never that way towards me. Never abusive at all towards me. I only know him as a really good, loving, caring guy who is very, very protective of the people that he loves. It’s hard because I feel like—that’s my experience. And it’s been a very long time.

    I don’t know how you feel about it, but it’s like anybody who says anything about it is a victim-blamer. I wasn’t there. I don’t know what happened. I’m not calling anyone a liar. I’m just saying, it’s difficult and upsetting for me to wrap my head around it. Look, it was a long time ago, but we were together for four years, and it was a big relationship for me. And we have a lot of mutual friends. I just never heard anything like that about him. But, again, I feel like even saying that, I’m going to get death threats or something. I’m not on social media, so maybe I will be spared.

    But yes, it’s really hard. I don’t know what your love history is, but imagine someone you were in a relationship with was accused of this. I get that there are patterns of abuse. I get why you’re asking me. But it’s weird because imagine if someone you dated when you were—I was 17 when I met him—was accused of that. It’s just shocking. I have never seen him be violent toward a person before.

    It’s just hard to picture. The only word I can come up with is unimaginable. You know with certain people you hear something and go, “I can see that.” But this isn’t that. So anyway this is the first time I’ve said anything so I don’t know. I can only offer my own experience. It’s such a serious, horrible thing to be accused of.

    It’s almost as if your brother or someone you just never—so, you know, there’s a part of me that is thinking, ‘Is it even appropriate for me to say anything?’ But because of the seriousness of it, it’s been brought into a thing where it’s trickier for me to say, ‘None of my business.’ But that’s all I have to offer is my own experience, which was a very, very long time ago.”

    What I Think

    I really wanted to put the whole statement on here because Ryder truly shows class here.

    I love that she keeps repeating that it was her “own experience” and that it was a “long time ago” because it shows that she truly doesn’t know what the truth is, but she knows what her truth is.

    I’m really happy she answered the question and didn’t just say “no comment,” because it gives us another perspective to look at when it comes to these abuse allegations.

    Plus I love that she isn’t on social media, such as Winona Ryder thing to do, just saying. 

Leave a Reply

