Renee Zellweger Answers Our Question Of Where She Has Been For the Last Six Years

After a 6-year hiatus, Renee Zellweger is back in the acting game.

Main_7
Photo Source: Brian Bowen Smith

The “Bridget Jones Diary” star graces the cover of American Way magazine for American Airlines and discusses why she decided to leave Hollywood behind in 2010.

“I planned to take some time off after “Chicago,” (2002), but there kept being once-in-a-lifetime experiences in front of me that I didn’t want to miss out on,” Zellweger mused of her professional life.

“Then I learned you can’t keep doing that forever, so I chose to see what would happen if I did let that once-in-a-lifetime experience that was ahead of me go and just be still and see what I could build.

06_American_Way_417
Photo Source: Brian Bowen Smith

During her time away, the 47-year-old did some travelling to Thailand, Cambodia and Liberia with a gender equality organization to empower the local women.

“I think travelling off the beaten path is a good idea for anybody because it’s essential for understanding not just the rest of the world but yourself,” Zellweger told the mag.

But Zellweger admits she longed for the creative aspects acting gave her.

“I craved the creative process again,” she admitted. “When I stopped making films, it was because it became more depleting than rewarding. It was because of the way I was living my life, and I don’t think you can be good in a creative medium if you aren’t grateful for the opportunity to participate.

I started to miss it and I felt ready,” she added.

And as soon as the opportunity came up to play her beloved character of Bridget Jones again in the upcoming third installment, Zellweger said it was a “no-brainer” to get back in the acting game.

“There’s this great reunion waiting in London with this character I love and all my friends who I’ve adored for years. It was an excellent excuse to go back.”

To read the full interview for American Way, click here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

