Selena Gomez Announces Time Off From Career

Selena Gomez just recently wrapped up her Revival world tour, and is now making a decision to step away from the spotlight for the time being.

selena-gomez-bb30-2015-billboard-06-1000
Photo Source: Zoey Grossman/ Billboard.

Gomez told PEOPLE in an exclusive statement she will be taking a break to take care of herself due to anxiety, depression and panic attacks stemming from her Lupus diagnosis.

“As many of you know, around a year ago I revealed that I have lupus, an illness that can affect people in different ways,” the singer and actress, 24, tells PEOPLE exclusively in a statement. “I’ve discovered that anxiety, panic attacks and depression can be side effects of lupus, which can present their own challenges.”

She thanks her fans for the support they have given her since announcing her diagnosis, but feels she needs time to focus on herself and her health.

“I want to be proactive and focus on maintaining my health and happiness and have decided that the best way forward is to take some time off. Thank you to all my fans for your support. You know how special you are to me, but I need to face this head on to ensure I am doing everything possible to be my best. I know I am not alone by sharing this, I hope others will be encouraged to address their own issues,” she continues.

It was just last year when Gomez opened up to Billboard about her on-going battle with an auto-immune disease, causing her to take a break during her 2013 Stars Dance tour.

“I wanted so badly to say, ‘You guys have no idea. I’m in chemotherapy. You’re ass—–.’ I locked myself away until I was confident and comfortable again,” Gomez told the publication.

I always feel like Selena Gomez always has the best intentions when she comes into the spotlight, whether it be in acting or singing.

But it just never seems to workout for her, like she doesn’t have enough inner strength to deal with the huge limelight or something (no offence, I couldn’t even imagine).

It is just my observation.

Tell me what you think.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

