Britney Spears Tells Marie Claire First Dates Can Be Awkward, Even For Celebrities

Britney Spears opens up about dating while being a single mom and a major pop sensation.

brit-online-1
Spears is currently riding high on her new album “Glory” and current Billboard hit “Make Me” feat. G-Eazy. Photo Source: David Roemer/ Marie Claire.

And apparently it ain’t as easy as it may seem for celebrities.

A natural beauty, Spears covers the October issue for Marie Claire.

She discusses what it was like to grow up in the spotlight, and how it compares to what her career is like now.

orangebrit
Spears recently performed at the MTV Video Music Awards last weekend, her first on the award show in 9 years. Photo Source: David Roemer/ Marie Claire.

Spears admits she now, at the age of 34, feels good about herself, but there has been points in her career where she has felt insecure.

‘I moved to Los Angeles when I was very young’ Spears told Marie Claire. ‘I was so under scrutiny. If a hair was out of place, I’d be so anxious. I would get very anxious about so many things.’
But the “Make Me” singer gives credit to her boys, Jayden, 9, and Sean Preston, 10, for helping her see herself in a different light.
‘Becoming a mother and being with my boys has made me so much more accepting of myself. I’m their mom, whatever. That has been a really big thing for me over these last few years.’
coveronline
Britney Spears’ October issue for Marie Claire is now out on newsstands. Photo Source: David Roemer/ Marie Claire.
Spears also reveals dating doesn’t get any less awkward just because your famous.
‘I had a really bad date’, she told the magazine. ‘I mean, it was really bad. I’ve been single for ages and had a date with a guy I liked. I was getting anxious, worrying he wouldn’t like me. In the evening I got on the scales and I had lost six pounds.’ [She continues] ‘We went to the movies, but I could tell right away it wasn’t working. It was sort of awkward. So after the movie I came home and that was it. It just didn’t work […] He just wasn’t that into me. I liked him. He knew that. But he definitely didn’t feel the same. It happens to everybody. Being famous doesn’t make you any different.’
This is one of those moments that makes me realize celebrities are just like us.
They go out on dates, bad ones, good ones, but it doesn’t drag them down.
I LOVE IT.
Thank you Brit for opening up to us.
Catch the full interview with Britney Spears in Marie Claire‘s October issue, out on newsstands now.

 

Leave a Reply

