Selena Gomez Resurfaces On Social Media

Selena Gomez recently made her first public appearance at the American Music Awards, after she took a well-needed break from social media and the spotlight.

Gomez has returned to social media in time for Thanksgiving, sharing an intimate message with her fans on Instagram.

“I have a lot to be thankful for this year.. My year has been the hardest yet most rewarding one yet. I’ve finally fought the fight of not ‘being enough,'” Gomez wrote alongside a black and white snapshot of herself posing with concertgoers.

“I have only wanted to reflect the love you guys have given me for years and show how important it is to take care of YOU. By grace through faith. Kindness always wins. I love you guys. God bless.”

In less than 24-hours, Gomez earned nearly half a million likes on the photo, proving her 14-week absence was hard on the fans.

During her acceptance speech at the AMAs, the “Good For You” singer delievered a powerful speech on her mental health and the power of self acceptance.

“I think it’s safe to say most of you know my life whether I liked it or not. And I had to stop. Because I had everything—and I was absolutely broken inside. I kept it all together enough to where I would never let you down, but I kept it too much together to where I let myself down.

“I don’t want to see your bodies on Instagram. I want to see what’s in [your heart,]” she added. “I’m not trying to get validation, nor do I need it anymore… But if you are broken, you do not have to stay broken. And if that’s anything, whether you respect me or not, that’s one thing you should know about me is, I care about people.”

It was reported in mid-October that the 24-year-old singer and actress checked herself into rehab amid her battle with depression stemming from a recent Lupus diagnosis.

She told People the importance of keeping herself healthy.

“I want to be proactive and focus on maintaining my health and happiness and have decided that the best way forward is to take some time off.”

I am so happy she is on her way to recovery, and let’s hope some great music will come out of this for her.

 

Leave a Reply

